The core CISN institutions (California Geological Survey, Caltech, UC Berkeley, USGS Menlo Park, and USGS Pasadena) and OES have signed a MOA (included in the 2000-2001 Annual Report) that describes the CISN organizational goals, products, management, and responsibilities of member organizations. To facilitate coordination of activities among institutions, the CISN has formed three management centers:

A goal of the CISN is for the Northern and Southern California Management Centers to operate as twin statewide earthquake processing centers while the Engineering Strong Motion Data Center has the responsibility for producing engineering data products and distributing them to the engineering community.

The Steering Committee oversees CISN projects and is comprised of two representatives from each core institution and a representative from OES. The position of chair rotates among the institutions; Woody Savage is the current chair of the Steering Committee.

An external Advisory Committee, representing the interests of structural engineers, seismologists, emergency managers, industry, government, and utilities, has been formed for review and oversight. The Advisory Committee is chaired by Ron Tognazinni, formerly of the LA Department of Water and Power and Stu Nishenko of Pacific Gas and Electric Company serves as the vice-chair. The Advisory Committee last met in October 2004. The agenda from that meeting and resulting report may be accessed through the CISN Web site ( The next meeting is planned for October 2005.

The Steering Committee has formed other committees, including a Program Management Group to address planning and coordination, a Strong Motion Working Group to focus on issues related to strong-motion data, and a Standards Committee to resolve technical design and implementation issues.

In addition to the core members, several organizations contribute data that enhances the capabilities of the CISN. Contributing members of the CISN include: University of California, Santa Barbara; University of California, San Diego; University of Nevada, Reno; University of Washington; California Department of Water Resources; Lawrence Livermore National Lab; and Pacific Gas and Electric.

Berkeley Seismological Laboratory
215 McCone Hall, UC Berkeley, Berkeley, CA 94720-4760
Questions or comments? Send e-mail:
© 2005, The Regents of the University of California