Appendix II Seminar Speakers 2004-2005

ZHIGANG ``MICHAEL'' PENG
UC Los Angeles
Department of Earth and Space Sciences
``High-resolution Imaging of Fault Zone Structures from Quantitative Analysis of Trapped Waves"
Tuesday, August 31, 2004

ERIC DUNHAM
UC Santa Barbara
Department of Physics
``Evidence for Supershear Rupture Speeds during the 2002 Denali Fault, Alaska, Earthquake"
Tuesday, September 7, 2004

JOHN SCALES
Colorado School of Mines
Department of Geophysics
``Experiments in Wave Chaos"
Tuesday, September 14, 2004

ALEXANDRE CHORIN
UC Berkeley
Department of Mathematics
``Scaling in Turbulence"
Tuesday, September 21, 2004

ROBERT NADEAU
UC Berkeley
Berkeley Sesismological Laboratory
``Periodic Deep Slip Pulses on the Central San Andreas Fault Using Repeating Micro-quakes"
Tuesday, September 28, 2004

PETER SHEARER
UC San Diego
Institute of Geophysics and Planetary Physics
``Earthquake Source Scaling, Source Similarity and Stress Drop"
Tuesday, October 5, 2004

TOSHIRO TANIMOTO
UC Santa Barbara
Department of Geological Sciences
``Monitoring Environment by Seismic Waves"
Tuesday, October 19, 2004

KARL FUCHS
University of Karlsruhe
``The Great Lisbon Earthquake of 1755 Shook the World"
Wednesday, October 20, 2004
Special "Brown Bag" Seminar

GEORGE HILLEY
UC Berkeley
Berkeley Seismological Laboratory
``Imaging Slow Moving Landslides in the Berkeley Hills Using Synthetic Aperture Radar Interferometry Permanent Scatterer Analysis"
Tuesday, October 26, 2004

PETER BROMIRSKI
UC San Diego
Scripps Institution of Oceanography
``Oceanography and Seismology: Climate Connections"
Tuesday, November 2, 2004

GREGORY BEROZA
Stanford University
Department of Geophysics
``Evidence for Nonlinear Strong Ground Motion from Repeating Earthquakes"
Tuesday, November 9, 2004

BRAD AAGAARD
USGS Menlo Park
``Lessons Learned from the 2002 Denali Fault Earthquake: Unlocking the Mysteries of Large, Complex Earthquake Ruptures"
Tuesday, November 16, 2004

ROGER BILHAM
University of Colorado at Boulder
Department of Geological Sciences
``The Search for Megasecond Nanoradian Ripples above Slow Earthquakes in Cascadia, Long Valley and Acapulco - Using Electric Light Bulbs"
Tuesday, November 23, 2004

SÉBASTIEN MERKEL
UC Berkeley
Department of Earth and Planetary Science
``High Pressure Diamond Anvil Cell Experimental Investigation of Seismic Anisotropy in the Deep Earth"
Tuesday, November 30, 2004

SIDAO NI
Caltech
Division of Geological and Planetary Sciences
``Seismic Constraints on the African Superplume"
Tuesday, December 7, 2004

RAYMOND JEANLOZ
UC Berkeley
Department of Earth and Planetary Science
``Spin Transition in Earth's Mantle"
Tuesday, January 25, 2005

FABIO CAMMARANO
UC Berkeley
Berkeley Seismological Laboratory
``Constraints on Composition and Temperature of the Earth's Mantle from Seismic and Mineral Physics Data"
Tuesday, February 1, 2005

CAROLINA LITHGOW-BERTELLONI
University of Michigan
Department of Geological Sciences
``Earth Under Stress: Mantle Flow and Surface Deformation"
Tuesday, February 8, 2005

IRINA ARTEMIEVA
Copenhagen University/
USGS Menlo Park
``Compositional Anomalies in the Continental Upper Mantle Constrained by Geophysical Data"
Tuesday, February 15, 2005

YING ZHOU
Caltech
Seismological Laboratory
``Global Upper-Mantle Structure from Finite-Frequency Surface-Wave Tomography"
Tuesday, February 22, 2005

SCOTT SHEPPARD
Carnegie Institution of Washington
Department of Terrestrial Magnetism
``Variability of Kuiper Belt Objects"
Tuesday, March 1, 2005

MICHAEL WYSESSION
Washington University
Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences
``Examining the Base of the Mantle Using Teleseismic Waves"
Tuesday, March 8, 2005

JOHN RUNDLE
UC Davis
Center for Computational Science and Engineering
``Understanding the Earthquake Cycle on Complex Multiscale Earthquake Fault Systems: Progress and Prospects"
Tuesday, March 15, 2005

CATHERINE HIER MAJUMDER
Carnegie Institution of Washington/
University of Minnesota
``Convection in Fluids with Large but Finite Prandtl Numbers"
Tuesday, March 29, 2005

IKURO SUMITA
Kanazawa University, Japan
Department of Earth Sciences
``Modelling Seismic Structures of Partially Molten Regions in the Boundary Layers of the Earth: D" Layer and Inner Core Boundary"
Tuesday, April 5, 2005

DAVE HARRIS
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
``Detection and Classification of Uncertain Seismic Signals"
Tuesday, April 12, 2005

NIKOLAI SHAPIRO
University of Colorado at Boulder
Department of Physics
``High-Resolution Imaging from Ambient Seismic Noise"
Tuesday, April 19, 2005

MICHAEL LONGUET-HIGGINS
UC San Diego
Institute for Nonlinear Science
``A Brief History of Surf Beats''
Tuesday, April 26, 2005

LEIGH HOUSE
Los Alamos National Laboratory
``What Can We Learn from the 'Snap, Crackle, and Pop' of Induced Seismicity?"
Tuesday, May 3, 2005

YUAN DAOYANG
Lanzhou Institute of Seismology
China Earthquake Administration
``The Progresses of Active Tectonics and Late Cenozoic Tectonics Research in Northeastern Margin of Qinghai-Tibet Plateau"
Tuesday, May 10, 2005

Berkeley Seismological Laboratory
215 McCone Hall, UC Berkeley, Berkeley, CA 94720-4760
Questions or comments? Send e-mail: www@seismo.berkeley.edu
© 2005, The Regents of the University of California