Appendix II Seminar Speakers 2007-2008

HUAIYU YUAN
Berkeley Seismological Laboratory
UC Berkeley
``Yellowstone hotspot system: plume interaction with old cratonic continent''
Tuesday, August 28, 2007

BERNARD CHOUET
USGS Menlo Park
``Shallow magma transport pathway under Kilauea Caldera imaged from waveform inversions of very-long-period seismic data''
Tuesday, September 4, 2007

NATHAN SIMMONS
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
``Mantle Heterogeneity and Flow from Seismic and Geodynamic Constraints''
Tuesday September 11, 2007

SHUO MA
Stanford
``Dynamic Modeling of the 2004 Mw 6.0 Parkfield Earthquake''
Tuesday, September 18, 2007

DAVID SHELLY
UC Berkeley
Department of Earth and Planetary Science
``A new look at episodic transient slip through precise tremor locations in Japan: "fast" sub-events and tidal triggering''
Tuesday, September 25, 2007

THORNE LAY
UC Santa Cruz
``Seismic Migrations For Imaging "Rough" Upper and Lower Mantle Structure''
Tuesday, October 2, 2007

BILL ELLSWORTH
USGS Menlo Park
``Earthquake Science in the Source: Fault Rocks and Earthquakes in the Near Field in the San Andreas Fault Observatory at Depth''
Tuesday, October 9, 2007






DAVID SCHWARTZ
USGS Menlo Park
``A Tale of Two Earthquake Cycles: the San Francisco Bay Area, AD 1600-2007; the Denali Fault System, Alaska, AD 800-2007''
Tuesday, October 16

JOE DUFEK
UC Berkeley
Department of Earth and Planetary Science
``The growth and eruption of large silicic magma bodies''
Tuesday, October 23, 2007

JENNIFER JACKSON
Caltech
``Wave velocities of minerals at high-pressure and temperature: Geophysical implications''
Tuesday, October 30, 2007

LARRY HUTCHINGS
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
``A Physically-based Strong Ground Motion Prediction Methodology Applied to the SFO Bay Bridge''
Tuesday, November 6, 2007

DAVID BOWMAN
CSU at Fullerton
``Getting Ready for a Big One: Accelerating Seismicity and Earthquake Predictability''
Tuesday, November 13, 2007

KEN CREAGER
University of Washington
``Episodic Tremor and Slip''
Tuesday, November 20, 2007

MEI XUE
Berkeley Seismological Laboratory
UC Berkeley
``High resolution imaging of the western USA: Interaction between the Yellowstone plume and Cascadia subduction?''
Tuesday, December 4, 2007

TAKA'AKI TIARA
University of Utah
``Stress-induced temporal changes in the seismogenic crust at the San Andreas Fault zone''
Tuesday, January 22, 2008

MEGHAN MILLER
Rice University
``The Caribbean: from the crust to the core''
Tuesday, January 29, 2008

KAREN FISCHER
Brown University
``Subduction zone structure, dynamics and melting processes: Lessons from Central America''
Tuesday, February 5, 2008

MARIE LUCE-CHEVALIER
Stanford University
``Determination, by 10Be cosmogenic dating, of slip-rates on the Karakorum Fault (Tibet) and paleoclimatic evolution since 200ka''
Tuesday, February 12, 2008

JESSE LAWRENCE
Stanford University
``The Quake Catcher Network & Distributed Computing Seismology''
Tuesday, February 19, 2008

LAURENT STEHLY
Berkeley Seismological Laboratory
UC Berkeley
``Surface waves tomography from observations of seismic ambient noise''
Tuesday, February 26, 2008

MARCO BOHNHOFF
Stanford University
``Seismotectonic Setting of the Aegean-Anatolian region''
Tuesday, March 4, 2008

JAY MELOSH
University of Arizona
``Landslides, Impact Craters and Earthquakes: The Paradoxical Behavior of Sliding Rock en Masse''
Tuesday, March 18, 2008

Lawson Lecture
ROLAND BÜRGMANN
Berkeley Seismological Laboratory
UC Berkeley
"A tectonic time bomb in our backyard: Earthquake potential of the Hayward fault"
Wednesday, April 9, 2008

WU-CHENG CHI
Academia Sinica, Taiwan
``Seismological, Oceanic, and Metrological Phenomena Observed by Ocean Bottom Seismographs: An Example from Taiwan''
Tuesday, April 22, 2008




THOMAS L. HOLZER
USGS Menlo Park
``Probabilistic mapping of liquefaction hazard in the San Francisco Bay Area''
Tuesday, April 29, 2008

REBECCA HARRINGTON
UCLA
``Volcanic hybrids that are brittle failure events''
Tuesday, May 6, 2008

BRIAN STUMP
Southern Methodist University
``Combining high frequency seismic and infrasound signals for characterizing propagation paths in both the atmosphere and the solid earth''
Tuesday, May 13, 2008

DAYANTHIE WEERARATNE
CSU Northridge
``Seismic and Rheological Behavior of the Asthenosphere Beneath Intraplate Seamount Chains in the South Pacific''
Tuesday, May 20, 2008

Berkeley Seismological Laboratory
215 McCone Hall, UC Berkeley, Berkeley, CA 94720-4760
Questions or comments? Send e-mail: www@seismo.berkeley.edu
© 2007, The Regents of the University of California