Directory

Participating Faculty and Research Faculty

Richard Allen

Director
rallen@berkeley.edu

Doug Dreger

Associate Director
dreger@seismo.berkeley.edu

Norman Abrahamson

Civil and Environmental Engineering
abrahamson@berkeley.edu

Yousef Bozorgnia

Civil and Environmental Engineering
yousef@berkeley.edu
510-642-3489

Jonathan Bray

Civil and Environmental Engineering
bray@ce.berkeley.edu
510-642-9843

Bruce Buffett

Earth and Planetary Science
bbuffett@berkeley.edu
510-642-1251

Roland Burgmann

Earth and Planetary Science
burgmann@seismo.berkeley.edu
510-643-9545

Angela Chung

Project Scientist
achung@seismo.berkeley.edu

Ken Goldberg

Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences
goldberg@berkeley.edu
510-643-9565

Raymond Jeanloz

Earth and Planetary Science
jeanloz@uclink.berkeley.edu
510-642-2639

Harriet Lau

Earth and Planetary Science
hcplau@berkeley.edu

Michael Manga

Earth and Planetary Science
manga@seismo.berkeley.edu
510-643-8532

Burkhard Militzer

Earth and Planetary Science
militzer@berkeley.edu
510-643-7414

Jack Moehle

Civil and Environmental Engineering
moehle@berkeley.edu
510-642-0697

Robert Nadeau

Research Seismologist
nadeau@seismo.berkeley.edu
510-643-3980

James Rector

Civil and Environmental Engineering
rector@ce.berkeley.edu
510-643-7820

Barbara Romanowicz

Earth and Planetary Science
barbara@seismo.berkeley.edu

Taka'aki Taira

Research Seismologist
taira@seismo.berkeley.edu
510-642-8504

Chi-Yuen Wang

Earth and Planetary Science
chiyuen@seismo.berkeley.edu
510-642-2288

Hans-Rudolf Wenk

Earth and Planetary Science
wenk@berkeley.edu
510-642-7431

Operations/Research

Julien Marty

Operations Manager
jmarty@berkeley.edu

Peggy Hellweg

Operations Manager on vacation
peggy@seismo.berkeley.edu
510-643-9449

Fabia Terra

Project Manager
terra@seismo.berkeley.edu
510-642-5907

Tal Edgecomb

Outreach and Administrative Coordinator
tale@berkeley.edu

Sharon Pothan

User Experience Designer
spothan@berkeley.edu

Jennifer Strauss

External Relations Officer
jastrauss@seismo.berkeley.edu
510-642-1067

Bob Uhrhammer

Seismologist (Specialist)
bob@seismo.berkeley.edu

Christina Valen

Data Analyst
cvalen@seismo.berkeley.edu

Kang Wang

Geodetic Postdoctoral Fellow
kwang@seismo.berkeley.edu

Sierra Boyd

Data Research Analyst
sierra@seismo.berkeley.edu

IT & Engineering

Jonah Merritt

Field Operations Manager
jmerritt@berkeley.edu
510-665-5055

Ivan Henson

IT Applications Manager
henson@seismo.berkeley.edu
510-664-9029

Stephen Thompson

IT Systems Manager
stephen@seismo.berkeley.edu
510-664-9177

Andrei Akimov

Applications Programmer
andrei.akimov@berkeley.edu

Zack Alexy

Engineer
zack@seismo.berkeley.edu
510-642-3976

Steve Allen

Applications Programmer
syallen@seismo.berkeley.edu
510-643-3898

Mario Aranha

IT Applications Programmer
mario@seismo.berkeley.edu
510-643-3898

Theron Bair

DevOps Engineer
theron.bair@berkeley.edu

George Dorian

Engineer
georged@seismo.berkeley.edu
510-642-3976

Alvaro Medina

Engineer
amedina77@berkeley.edu

Akie Mejia

Akie Mejia

IT Applications Programmer
rfmejia@seismo.berkeley.edu

Paul Milligan

Information Systems Analyst
millpaul@seismo.berkeley.edu
510-664-5119

Doug Neuhauser

IT Systems Manager
doug@seismo.berkeley.edu

Charley Paffenbarger

IT Systems Administrator
cpaff@seismo.berkeley.edu
510-642-5333

Brian Pardini

Systems Administrator
bpardini@seismo.berkeley.edu

Horst Rademacher

Engineer
horst@berkeley.edu

Nicholas Stein

Engineer
nstein@berkeley.edu
510-642-3976

Jennifer Taggart

Web & Ops Developer
jennifer.c.taggart@berkeley.edu

Junli Zhang

Applications Programmer
jzhang@seismo.berkeley.edu

Stephane Zuzlewski

IT Database Administrator
stephane@seismo.berkeley.edu
510-664-9029

Administrative Staff (Shared with Earth and Planetary Sciences)

Veronica Padilla

Management Services Officer
vmp@berkeley.edu
510-642-4540

Erin Blazick

HR/AP Analyst and Curriculum Coordinator
eblazick@berkeley.edu
510-643-4068

David Elvins

Research Administrator
elvins@berkeley.edu

Siti Keo

Financial Services Analyst
skeo@berkeley.edu
510-642-3994

Rachel Kowalik

Community Engagement Facilitator & CIDER Manager
rkowalik@berkeley.edu

Raúl Luevano

Research Administrator
rluevano@berkeley.edu
510-664-4890

Emily Martinez

HR/APS Partner (CSS, temporary)
emartinez24@berkeley.edu
510-664-9617

Heather Murthy

Research Administrator
murthy2019@berkeley.edu

Aileen (Ellie) Paterson

BSL Program Coordinator
aileen.paterson@berkeley.edu
510-642-2961

Anthony Vitan

Director of Facilities
ajvitan@berkeley.edu
(P)510-642-2242 (C)510-334-5068

Post-docs and Visiting Scientists

Dan Frost

Deep Earth Structure
dafrost@seismo.berkeley.edu

Xie Hu

InSAR, landslides, and shallow groundwater processes
xiehu@berkeley.edu

Saeko Kita

Intraslab seismicity, slow earthquake and seismic structure
s-north.7z@berkeley.edu

Eric Lindsey

Tectonic deformation, interseismic processes, and fault geometry
elindsey@berkeley.edu

Diogo Lourenco

Geodynamics, Earth and other rocky bodies' evolution and dynamics
dlourenco@berkeley.edu

Chao Lyu

Computational Seismology; Homogenzied Full Waveform Inversion; Hybrid Wave Numerical Simulation
lyuchao1988@gmail.com

Federico Munch

Upper mantle and transition zone thermo-chemical structure, Probabilistic inverse methods, Seismology, Deep electromagnetic studies, Mineral physics, Mantle water content
fmunch@seismo.berkeley.edu

Artie Rodgers

Earthquake strong motion simulation, Bay Area earthquakes
rodgers7@llnl.gov

Baptiste Rousset

Geodetic observations,crustal deformation,aseismic slip on faults
rousset@berkeley.edu

Naoki Uchida

Slow slip, subduction zone seismicity
naoki.uchida@berkeley.edu

Graduate Students

Sevan Adourian

Imaging of the Lowermost Mantle
sevan.adourian@berkeley.edu

Manar Al Asad

Core-Mantle Coupling, Geophysical Flows and Planetary Potential Fields
m.alasad@berkeley.edu

Stephen Breen

Multiphase flow and hydrogeophysics
breen@berkeley.edu

Tyler Cadena

Volcanology
tcadena@berkeley.edu

Li-Wei Chen

Global Seismology and Tomography
liwei_chen@berkeley.edu

Rodrigo Chi

Earth's Core Dynamics and Seismic Sources
rodrigo.chi@berkeley.edu

William Davis

Earth and Planetary Sciences
williamjsdavis@berkeley.edu

Claire Doody

Subduction Zone Imaging in Japan
claired@berkeley.edu

Mrinal Dursun


mrinal.dursun@berkeley.edu

Yuancong Gou

Seismology
yuancong_gou@berkeley.edu

Yuexin Li

Earthquake Physics and Crustal Deformation
yuexinli@berkeley.edu

Danielle Lindsay

Geodetic observations, active tectonics, slow earthquakes
danielle.lindsay@berkeley.edu

Nam Maneerat

Structural Geology and Active Tectonics
pmaneera31@berkeley.edu

Sarina Patel

Real-time seismology, Earthquake Hazard, MyShake, Mapping
sarina.patel@berkeley.edu

Heng-Yi Su

Global Tomography, Seismology
hengyi_su@berkeley.edu

Undergraduate Students

Samantha Goldstein

Seismicity of Foreshocks and Mainshocks in California
samgoldstein@berkeley.edu